Government to decide on a list of more than 2,800 products banned from Russia

Asociatyvi nuotr.

After the Lithuanian Parliament banned imports of agricultural products and feed originating in Russia or Belarus in April, the Government will discuss a specific list of such products on Wednesday.

The Ministry of Agriculture (MAA) proposes to ban the entry into the country of more than 2,800 products from 24 different product groups.

It is proposed to stop the entry of certain live animals, such as guinea fowl, meat and some of its products, fish and crustaceans, milk and its products, eggs, honey, trees and other plants, bulbs, vegetables, fruit, nuts, coffee, tea, spices, cereals and their products, flour, starch, oils and fats, waxes, sugar, cocoa, non-alcoholic and alcoholic beverages, vinegar, animal feed, food industry residues, tobacco and processed substitutes therefor.

The amendments to the Law on the Imposition of Restrictive Measures in the Context of Military Aggression against Ukraine, which will remain in force until 2 May 2025, have already been signed by President Gitanas Nausėda.

He vetoed the law last year because of different sanctions imposed on Russian and Belarusian citizens, but the Seimas overrode the veto.

The ban on the entry into Lithuania of agricultural products and feed from these countries, as defined by the government, would come into force on 3 June.